Don’t let me down: Comics I’m buying (2.11.09)

dmz-39Because there aren’t enough comic blogs out there right now telling you what’s coming out, I’m going to do it, too. What makes me so special? You tell me. You’re the one reading my blog.

Actually, I’m going to use this to see whether or not I’ve wasted money buying a piece of entertainment that didn’t live up to — or exceed — my expectations. By the end of the year, we’ll see how much cash I wasted on comics that let me down.

XPECTATI-O-METER KEY

HIGH Can’t wait to pick it up. Will stab a unicorn to read it.

MEDIUM HIGH Reading it will make me feel better about forgetting my dad’s birthday.  

MEDIUM It pleases me. 

MEDIUM LOW Beats a catheter.

LOW Someone should gouge my eyes out for even thinking of reading this.

♦ ♦ ♦

 

batman-686Batman #686: This is the first part of Neil Gaiman’s two-part wrapup of Grant Morrison’s Batman R.I.P. storyline. I enjoyed Morrison’s run (although I’m in the minority; a lot of critics felt it was overly confusing without a satisfying payoff), but Gaiman’s been hit-and-miss since even before ending his run on Sandman. Forgive me, though, I’ll still pick up a comic by Neil Gaiman. Except if he wrote a Hannah Montana comic. I have limits.
INITIAL XPECTATI-O-METER READING Medium High

 

DMZ #39 (pictured): The best comic no one reads in single issues. It never disappoints.
INITIAL XPECTATI-O-METER READING High

 

Scapled #25: I wonder if Jason Aaron will have another scene of physically crippling drug use right after a scene of soul-crippling drug use? What am I saying? I wonder how many of these will be in this issue.
INITIAL XPECTATI-O-METER READING Medium High

 

Incognito #2: What impresses me about Ed Brubaker is his precision as the industry’s best genre writer. He’s the definition of “making it look easy.”
INITIAL XPECTATI-O-METER READING High

 

Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe: Technically, this came out last week, but my comic shop was shorted its copies. I’m hoping the reorders come in today.
INITIAL XPECTATI-O-METER READING High, high, SUPER HIGH!

roberts-tpbSpecial spotlight

Last year, I wrote about The Roberts, a two-issue series about two famous serial killers in a nursing home, written by Wayne Chingsang (Justin Shady) and illustrated by Erik Rose. This week, the collected editon hits the stands with a bunch of extras. If you didn’t pick up the individual issues, pick up the trade.

Leave a comment

Filed under Entertainment, Personal

Leave a Reply

